How I Obtained Nearly 1,000 College T-shirts

If you’ve known me for more than a few years, you’ve heard my college T-shirt story.  It’s one of my go-to stories whenever I’m in a “tell me something interesting about yourself” situation.  If they’re still not impressed, I then throw out the fact that I have zero cavities, or perhaps more impressively, that I haven’t thrown up in over 20 years.  A Seinfeld-esque streak which I hope to maintain for 20 more.

It started in high school.  One of my history teachers would always put together these classroom games in which the winners would get to pick from a box of random prizes.  The prize box contained all kinds of stuff:  mugs, pens, pennants, and even T-shirts.  I noticed that most of the items in the prize box had college logos on them, so out of curiosity, I asked him where he got all his loot.  His method was shockingly simple:  he’d occasionally e-mail random colleges asking them to donate items for his classroom.  He gave me a website which listed the admissions e-mail addresses of all the top colleges in the nation.  I jotted down the URL and couldn’t wait to get home and give it a try.

I got home and took a gander at the list of schools.  It was massive.  1,700 to be exact. However, I quickly made up my mind:  over the course of the next several weeks, I was going to e-mail every last school on that list and request a free T-shirt.  And damn it, I did.

Now, I need to set the stage a little bit here.  Keep in mind that this little experiment took place in the summer of 2003.  DSL internet existed at the time, but unfortunately, my parents were still on dial-up.  And not that fancy-schmancy AOL service, either.  Nope, our internet service provider was Walmart Connect.  Walmart Connect?  Yes, Walmart used to have its own dial-up service and it was called Walmart Connect.  My e-mail address was jrice80@wmconnect.com.  Embarrassing, right?  Anyway, the internet speed was clearly going to be a major hurdle.

As I pondered how I wanted to go about tackling this gargantuan task, I wanted to do whatever it took to get the best results.  I wasn’t interested in pens and mugs.  I wanted T-shirts, and lots of them.  Sending out requests for free shirts in a massive bulk e-mail was not going to fly, as I figured it would look too spammy.  These requests needed to be personalized and sent individually.  I drafted up the body of the e-mail in Word, basically saying how I was a prospective college student who wanted to gather a few shirts and wear them around to promote their school.  I included my mailing address and noted my shirt size.

  1. Open a “new e-mail” window.
  2. Type “Hello” as the subject.
  3. Navigate to the database, click the name of the school, find the admissions e-mail address and copy/paste it into the “To” field of the e-mail.
  4. Copy/paste the body from Word into the e-mail.
  5. Navigate back to the database, copy the name of the school, and paste it in the greeting above the body (e.g., Dear Abilene Christian University:)
  6. Press Send.
  7. Repeat.

I listed the above steps to give you an idea as to how long this process actually took.  Each step seems minuscule, but when you’re working on a dinosaur of a PC with each webpage click taking 10+ seconds to render, it really adds up.  I would usually sit down and just hammer them out in stages, typically at a clip of about 60 E.P.H. (e-mails per hour).  You could really get into a rhythm, but let me tell you, it was absolutely grueling.  You’d have a nice pace going, and then all of the sudden, your brain would just completely forget how to press CTRL + C, CTRL + V, etc.  You’d have to stop, regain focus, and try again.  It was an absolutely mind-numbing process.

About two weeks into the project, my hard work started to pay off:  the shirts were starting to roll in.  It started off slow–maybe a shirt or two a day.  But one day, it just exploded.  I don’t know if all colleges coincidentally chose the same day to start mailing out their crap, but all of the sudden I got about a dozen shirts in one day.  The next day, 15.  The next, 20.  Shirts were coming in faster than I could unpackage them.  Our mail lady was pissed.  Our driveway was a mile long, and every day for an entire summer, she’d have to drive all the way to our front doorstep and unload armfuls of packages and boxes.  But for me, every day was like Christmas morning!

You wouldn’t believe the postage cost on some of these boxes (anywhere from $5 to $15 apiece).  My best haul came from Emmanuel College.  They sent me a box of ten T-shirts.  But these weren’t just any shirts.  These things looked like they had been taken right off the shelves of their college bookstore.  Very high quality.  They were neatly wrapped and still had tags on them, priced at $10 each.  What a haul.  Emmanuel College was my Moby Dick.

The majority of the schools that sent me shirts were ones that you’ve never heard of.  But that’s part of what made it fun.  Whenever I’d wear one, people would ask, “Where the heck is that school?”  My answer was usually, “I have no idea.”  However, there were quite a few big schools that sent me shirts.  Some of the bigger schools from memory were Notre Dame, Syracuse, Ohio State, BYU, Michigan State, Utah, Marquette, Indiana, and Pepperdine.

But it wasn’t just T-shirts.  Even though I only requested shirts, some schools would also send all kinds of random college paraphernalia:  pens, pads of paper, mouse pads, stress balls, pennants, sweatshirts, long sleeve Ts, hats, mints, calculators, key chains, water bottles, even rain ponchos!  It was glorious.

That was a magical summer.  I’m not kidding, every day for 3 months, something would come in the mail.  I had hundreds of shirts:  all different colors/designs, and all really unique.

A few more random thoughts before I wrap this post up:

  1. Many, many other people tried this after seeing/hearing how much success I was having. Every person that I know who tried it enjoyed some type of success.  But very few, if any, had the drive (or free time?) to make it through all 1,700 schools on that list.
  2. People that I didn’t even know heard my story through other people and gave it a try for themselves.  I was known as “the T-shirt guy”.
  3. When a friend or family member would give it a try, sometimes the person in admissions would recognize the city/state in their mailing address and reply back with “Are you the same guy who requested a shirt a couple months ago?”
  4. When the University of Utah replied to my request, they agreed to send me a shirt, but on one condition:  I had to take a picture of myself wearing it and send it back to them.  They put me on their website!  Pretty cool.  It was a really nice shirt, too.  Nike, I believe.
  5. These shirts pretty much made up my entire wardrobe throughout the rest of high school and all through college.  Chilly out?  No problem.  I’ll just throw on this comfy St. Thomas Aquinas College sweatshirt.  Chance of rain?  Piece of cake.  Just let me grab my Point Loma Nazarene University rain poncho.
  6. On many, many occasions, I’d be wearing a shirt in public and would get stopped by someone.  “Whoa, you went to Loras College?!  I was an ’87 grad!  Go Duhawks!!!”  They were disappointed to hear that I only obtained the shirt as part of an elaborate e-mail scheme.
  7. I went through the list a second time a couple years later, but only made it about halfway through.  A year after that, I went through the list again and made it all the way.  Over the course of all three attempts, I’d say I sent about 4,000 total e-mails.
  8. All in all, I would guess that I probably got between 800-900 T-shirts.  I gave most of them away to friends and family.  Gave some to Goodwill.  Kept my favorites.  I still have probably 40-50 of them.

Will I ever try it again?  No, probably not.  It was extremely time consuming.  But what makes a future attempt even more prohibitive is the fact that U.S. News & World Report appears to have changed the layout of their online list of colleges.  You used to be able to click on the name of the school and the admissions e-mail address would be front and center.  I looked around on their current site, but I couldn’t find any admissions e-mails.  There may be other lists out there, but there is absolutely no way you could do this without a really quick way to access a mass list of college e-mail addresses.  Having to navigate through pages and pages to find each one would be impossible.

If this little T-shirt project taught me anything, it’s this:  sometimes, all you have to do is ask.

    • Eli
    • December 11th, 2011

    Awesome and very enjoyable read. I’m impressed that you linked to a specific point in the YouTube video (not many either know how to or take the time). I’m kind of irked that we didn’t get to see a pic at the end of a layout of all the shirts you received. Heck, even google a picture of a bunch of t-shirts in a pile. Can’t really blame you for not posting one thought. After all, I didn’t ask.

  1. Here’s a pic of many of the shirts I still have. This was taken a few years ago. I really wish I would have gotten a pic of all of them. I gave many away as I got them, so there was never a point where I had all 900 shirts in my possession. Would have made for an epic pic.

    http://twitpic.com/7s4tgw

      • Brandon
      • August 8th, 2012

      Hello,

      Could you tell me the name of the big schools you got free t-shirts from.

      Thanks

      • Casey
      • August 3rd, 2013

      Hey, did they reply wiith an email, or did they just send it to you? did you get a lot of rejections?

    • Sheri
    • December 13th, 2011

    our mail carrier still punishes us on a weekly basis: i.e. jams, crams, stuffs until the box won’t shut, only to come home finding our personal mail flying all over the road….but we still smile about the good ole T-Shirt days!

    • Ana B.
    • August 9th, 2012

    so what exactly, word for word what did you say?

    • Word for word? This post wasn’t enough?

        • Ana B.
        • August 12th, 2012

        it was, for some reason i do better when i see examples.

    • Lisa
    • September 20th, 2012

    I just happened to accidentally find your story and I must say it was both entertaining and impressive! I wanted to comment that I haven’t thrown up in over 20 years either… and you are absolutely right, it makes a great “tell me something about yourself” story!!

    • Thanks for reading! And I hope your streak stays alive. Mine is still intact as well. Here’s to another 20 years!

        • Lisa
        • September 25th, 2012

        Bring it on!!!

    • Bob
    • October 4th, 2012

    I happen to see this story and it is awesome Can you tell me exactly what the email say because I am trying to do the same thing and where you out of school or in college how old was you

  2. can you explain how to get them? well not all of them but i do want to gt some shirts. what do i do?

    • Lauren
    • October 13th, 2012

    Do you think that you could post one of the letters you sent?

    • Nicholas Alcorn
    • October 18th, 2012

    Hey Tyler, I came across your post searching for free college t-shirts. I’m considering trying this, but i was interested in knowing how you asked. I assume you didn’t just say Hey can i have a free shirt. Any information would be helpful. Thanks.

      • BOB
      • October 25th, 2012

      Hey, This is Bob and I wonder have you start doing this project yet and what do your email say and how many shirts have you receive

    • Amanda Hold
    • October 28th, 2012

    What college did you end up going to?

    • Andrea Garcia
    • November 17th, 2012

    Hello! If possible, could you please post some direct links to free shirt sign ups? I can’t find any..,Rather than actually emailing the schools for shirts? Thank you!

    • Huh? A free T-shirt sign-up? That doesn’t exist. Did you even read my post?

        • Andrea Garcia
        • November 21st, 2012

        I did! And it was a great article! But nowadays, rather than emailing colleges for shirts, many have online sign-ups, simply requiring your email, name, address, and a few other pieces of information. I have tried this a few times with success. I know colleges like Colombia College in South Carolina do and was wondering if you had any direct links to such sign-ups. Thank you for your time! And sorry for the confusion!

        • Interesting. I didn’t know that they did that. Definitely didn’t see anything like that when I was doing it. I did it one painstaking email at a time! Worth it though. Still have a ton of shirts.

            • Andrea Garcia
            • November 21st, 2012

            Lol, I see…Thank you! Sorry for the misunderstanding! :D I’ve got to try this the email way sometime!

  3. Awesome post! Thanks a lot! =)

    • Steven
    • November 22nd, 2012

    So I just email the college and they will send me a free shirt? Do you have the list of colleges still?

      • Steven
      • December 2nd, 2012

      I just got one from Fairfield University

        • Bridgett
        • April 16th, 2013

        What did you say in your e-mail to them?

  4. Ooh! Sounds cool! Did you ever get any shirts from schools in Minnesota?

    • No, I don’t believe so. I definitely sent them an e-mail, though. Give it a try!

      • Yeah, I was trying that, I can’t even find an admission email lol. Guess I’ll just keep looking.

    • Affinity Mee
    • December 9th, 2012

    Hey I gave it a try and now I’m getting an average of 5 college T-shirts a day in the mail plus random stuff. Just letting everyone know that Otis College of Art and Design will most definitely send you one if you ask. My friends all tried it. I love their black T-shirt. Thanks for the post!

    • Melany Salinas
    • December 29th, 2012

    Do you still have the list ?

    • apa
    • January 28th, 2013

    So i took 3 days out of my life to put together an email list by copy and pasting them all into a word doc. got 2150 schools in the US and another 200 or so in Canada. I will be emailing them in the near future when i get an apartment. I cant wait to do this! only a couple months until i can.

    Hopefully i can post my results.

    • Nice! Please do.

      • Jeremiah
      • February 12th, 2013

      Send them to me at texasboy1990@me.com

      • Emily
      • May 29th, 2013

      Could you send me the list? emilyap@charter.net

        • bob
        • July 1st, 2013

        did you ever receive the list

      • Stewart
      • June 17th, 2013

      Could you possibly send me the list?

      • Jessica
      • July 9th, 2013

      I am a high school teacher looking to score some college swag for my classroom. Hopefully I can motivate my juniors to think outside the SEC and explore the endless options! Apa, if you still have the list that you compiled would you please share it with me? I’m ready to get started :)
      leejess84@gmail.com

      • tj
      • December 1st, 2013

      could i please have the list im trying to influence my brother to go to college

      tjsweeney13@gmail.com

      • Yajaira
      • March 12th, 2014

      Hi apa, are u going to share your list?? I know it took u some time. yariefly@gmail.com

      • Stone
      • March 26th, 2014

      Hey! It’s been a while since you commented this, but I was wondering if you, maybe, still had this list? If so, would you mind sharing it? My email address is stonejones10@gmail.com

      Thank you so much!

      • Josh
      • March 27th, 2014

      Hey my buddy and I are looking to try this project world-wide, contacting universities in Europe, Australia and the like, would you mind sending us the list you made to start us on this epic quest.
      Much appreciated,
      joshman.carroll@gmail.com

    • Deja
    • January 29th, 2013

    Do you have the website with the list of colleges & email addresses?

  5. I emailed both emmanuel and st Thomas just like you did and they told me that unfortunately they couldn’t send me a free t shirt.

    • Emmy
    • February 5th, 2013

    Did they reply with whether or not they would send one? Or do they just send it?

    • Joe
    • February 23rd, 2013

    Just started my trek through all the schools. I’m determined to break your record.

    • Grant
    • March 10th, 2013

    How Fast did they send a shirt after you started sending emails

    • Some within one week.

        • Grant
        • March 10th, 2013

        Ok thanks and should i tell the school im interested in them or just say i want to represent them

        • Dude, if this college T-shirt thesis I wrote here doesn’t give you what you need, I can’t help you.

            • Michael S.
            • April 22nd, 2013

            I’m starting this venture now. It will be a SLOW work in progress. I plan on creating a website (blog style) to feature the shirts & schools. I enjoy advertising & promoting anyways, so this will be fun.

    • Shannon
    • April 29th, 2013

    Hey….so if you could maybe unlink Point Loma Nazarene University…we’re tired of getting “hey, could you send me a free t-shirt, even though I don’t know who you are…because someone else got one…” emails. Much appreciated. Enjoy that poncho!

    • Hi Shannon, I’ve broken the PLNU link. Sorry for flooding your inbox! You guys put out an A+ poncho.

        • Shannon
        • April 29th, 2013

        Not a prob–glad to be of service and nice work on clearly writing such a popular post.
        Thanks so much!

        • Thank you. Just out of curiosity: how many e-mails would you say you’ve gotten?

            • Shannon
            • April 29th, 2013

            For some reason, we’ve gotten more this fall than ever! We had one or two every few months up until this fall, when I’d say we’ve received at least 40 since October…and for a lil’ school like us, that’s plenty. :)

          • Understandably so. Hopefully this will slow things down!

    • Shannon
    • April 29th, 2013

    Honestly, it’s pretty funny. We couldn’t figure out where it was all coming from, so it’s good to finally know!

  6. Web designing or website designing is one of 90, 000 civilian
    Defense Department employees. You can’t really escape the connotation that the rich are better than the poor. Here, I also jot down the centers for each day and the order in which each group of students based on their mental capacities or capabilities. In-college dorm list debates do not just teach public speaking skills; you also develop critical thinking; research skills and organisation and prioritisation of information. In addition, you are not playing well.

    • Tshirtlady
    • June 1st, 2013

    Hi! I really enjoyed this post very much:) I was just wondering if you can tell me the name of that website that you got the emails from? Thanks so much!

  7. Since the end of ’09, maybe you can run right away, and this despite the loss of 2, 48, 168 REC s were issued – the highest so far. By the end of the quarter. If you want to know ahead of time if your future spouse isn’t really interested in joint custody, they can always opt
    for a traditional license.

    • Sara
    • June 7th, 2013

    So these colleges never ended up billing you or sending fliers from their college for anything they sent you?

    • No, I was never billed anything. All completely free swag. Sometimes they’d send informational packets about their school, but all free.

    • Christopher
    • June 12th, 2013

    Got one from Valporaiso, Bradley University, I even tried some sports teams and it worked, thanks!

      • Michael
      • June 13th, 2013

      Christopher – if you dont mind me asking, what kinds/types of sports teams? They would fit in well with the project that I’ll be starting this fall.

        • Christopher
        • June 13th, 2013

        Well, The Boston Celtics, The Detroit Tigers, The Houston Texans, New England Revolution, Washington Wizards, Chicago Cubs, Miami Marlins, and the Atlanta Braves.

          • Michael
          • June 17th, 2013

          Christopher,

          Thanks so much for responding (just now saw that you did). I wasn’t expecting you to answer with the teams you did – I was figuring on minor league or local teams. Good luck with your project.

          Thanks again!

            • Christopher
            • June 17th, 2013

            FYI, the Buffalo Sabres sent me a T-shirt, along with the Philadelphia Flyers, and Arizona Christian University…

          • Michael
          • June 17th, 2013

          Christopher,

          Can you send me an email at southerlandpromotions@gmail.com ? I have another question, but I don’t want to ask it here on this thread. If not, I understand.

            • Christopher
            • June 17th, 2013

            Yeah I will, but wait, are you the Tennessee TTM guy from youtube, i used to be obsessed with TTMing, and you were the guy I always watched

        • Hi if you don’t mind could you please email me at mrb3417@sbcglobal.net. Thanks!!

      • bob
      • July 1st, 2013

      what email did you send to the sports team to receive the t-shirts how did it go

      • Heather
      • July 12th, 2013

      If you don’t mind I was wondering who you contacted when emailing the sports teams?

      • Edalyn
      • February 12th, 2014

      Sorry to ask but what exactly do you say to these teams or colleges in order to get them to give you free stuff?

    • Pauline Arcadio
    • June 27th, 2013

    So far I’ve sent about 50 emails and about 20 colleges don’t give out tshirts. I have shitty luck. Cool story though.

      • Jav B
      • July 3rd, 2013

      I’ve just received a pennant from Swarthmore College! No t-shirts so far…

    • sylvi
    • July 4th, 2013

    I’ve been doing this for the past two weeks and have just started getting stuff in the mail. it really is like Christmas every day the mailman visits :)

      • Michael
      • July 4th, 2013

      If anyone on here would like to swap lists (not email addresses) of the schools you have gotten t shirts from, email me at southerlandpromotions@gmail.com

      I have a list already written up of who I’ve received shirts from. This would help me on the advertising/promoting project I’m working on.

      Thanks!

        • Erica
        • July 6th, 2013

        I’ve been successful with Pepperdine, and Point Loma Nazarene! And University of Portland!

          • Michael
          • July 6th, 2013

          Thanks Erica!

    • ariannae4
    • July 6th, 2013

    Just wondering, did you include your mailing address in the email you sent them?

    • Erica
    • July 6th, 2013

    What were the schools that sent you sweatshirts?

    • Kevin Angle
    • July 10th, 2013

    I have enjoyed your blog. I started my own quest of shirts on july 3rd received my first shirt july 9Th from Graceland University.

    • societykindasucks
    • July 13th, 2013

    So far I’ve gotten a shirt from: University of Colorado-Denver, University of Portland (they sent me a flag too), Benedictine University, Pepperdine University, Utah State University, Columbia College, and a lanyard from Illinois State University.

      • John
      • July 15th, 2013

      Thanks! I got a T-shirt from augustana college in Illinois and another T-shirt from Dakota State University so far.

    • Pete Pit
    • July 18th, 2013

    Just got one from Georgia College.

    • Marie
    • July 23rd, 2013

    Have you gotten one from Virginia Tech , Embry Riddle, or Washington State ?

    • Rebecca
    • July 29th, 2013

    You are such an inspiration to me LOL

    • alanna
    • July 31st, 2013

    Did you give them your address too in the email ?

      • Stone
      • March 26th, 2014

      He gave them everything upfront :)

    • Amber Richards
    • August 2nd, 2013

    Im soooo doing this!

    • Frustrated Admission Counselor
    • August 2nd, 2013

    All this interest is sad to see. College tuition rates are rising by 6-7% per year–double the rate of inflation–and these requests are adding unnecessary costs for colleges. So do you want to pay even more for tuition??? It’s already expensive and out of reach for a growing number of families. I work at a college, and we receive 10+ bogus requests like this per week. We now check our prospective student database to see if someone is truly interested in the school. Please stop trying to scam colleges for a $5 t-shirt and drive up costs as a byproduct. There are appropriate ways to learn about colleges. It’s unfathomable to see that some high school counselors are supporting these efforts!

      • Johnny
      • April 2nd, 2014

      you mad ahahaha

      • Sarah
      • April 13th, 2014

      It’s the college’s choice on whether or not they actually give us the shirts or not. If you don’t want to, then just tell us that you can’t give us any.

    • Casey
    • August 3rd, 2013

    Do You get replies back saying they will send you a shirt? or not?

      • YSH
      • December 2nd, 2013

      sometimes they do, but they usually just send it

    • Phil Phill
    • August 5th, 2013

    If any one has a list of the admission emails could you please send it too me I cant find them. Or could you tell me how to find them?? Most of the merchandise will be going to the kids who live at the GVCM orphanage in Haiti. I’m so excited to see if this will work out!!!
    Thanks and God bless!!!!:)

      • Nick
      • August 22nd, 2013

      Either click on an admissions tab and look for it on the admissions page or click the “contact us” and find it there

  8. Hey! great post, i now have an obsession with collecting free shirts! So far the only ones I have gotten are by signing up online. I was wondering about how long was the “body” of the email? What other points did bring up besides saying that you were looking to do free advertising for them?

    • Nice! Just a few paragraphs. Didn’t really give any other angle aside from a fun project of collecting shirts.

    • Nick
    • August 22nd, 2013

    Naropa University sent me a pair of T shirts

    • Anna
    • August 28th, 2013

    Very cool story… I am just wondering if you emailed the all girls colleges as well… and if so did they actually send you shirts?

    • Sydney
    • August 28th, 2013

    Hi! I love this idea and was wondering how long/ what kind of things you said in your emails to accomplish such a task?

    • Erica
    • September 5th, 2013

    Hi, I was just wondering if you can sent me the list also. And email me about how you write your emails to the colleges. Thank you for this post!
    ericake1@live.cn

    • ikhlas
    • September 6th, 2013

    Hi

    Could you please send me the list too…. my email is ikhlaskhan107 @ yahoo.com

    Thanks

  9. I’m so happy I stumbled across your story!! I’m a school counseling grad student, and I hope to work in the College and Career Center of a high school when I graduate. I have 39 shirts in my collection now but plan to start emailing schools soon. Thanks for sharing your story!

    • Neely Heller
    • September 11th, 2013

    Should I start off with small colleges at first? And did they reply to the emails any of yall sent?

    • Chuck
    • September 12th, 2013

    l’m a high school junior looking at universities that I might want to go to and your story made me more enthusiastic about browsing colleges. I do have one question, I’m I doing anything illegal if I attempt to do this?

    • Mo
    • September 18th, 2013

    Do you still have that draft that you sent to those colleges? If you do, can you please give it to me,

    • Mikayla
    • September 24th, 2013

    I am extremely interested in receiving some free apparel for my senior year! I would love it if anyone could send me the colleges that send out free stuff and advice on what to write in the emails. Please email me at mikaylathurman2014@yahoo.com :)

    • Kareem
    • September 25th, 2013

    Hey ; I was wondering if its possible to get the list of colleges you sent your letter too. I’m looking forward to some College Pennants or T-Shirts nothing more. GnomePls@gmail.com

    • sarah
    • September 26th, 2013

    Can anyone send me there list of colleges that sent free t-shirts to them please and thank you sarah1.1peter@gmail.com

    • Taylor
    • September 27th, 2013

    Can you send me a list of the colleges that sent you shirts and the college email list, do you email their admissions office?? my email is tburleson2015@yahoo.com thanks!

    • Joe
    • October 10th, 2013

    Could you send me this list also please?

    20090375@stu.zps.org

    • Heidi
    • October 10th, 2013

    Would someone send me their list of colleges that sent them shirts? Thanks! sparkleme17@yahoo.com

    • Marina
    • October 11th, 2013

    I am so happy I stumbled across your story! I also collect college shirts and I love getting new ones. I don’t even care where the school is at. Thank you for sharing. I never thought about emailing the schools to ask for T-shirts!!

    • Kaitlin
    • October 15th, 2013

    Could you please send me the list Kaitlin.holly@chsd117.org thank you very much

    • Rontravius
    • October 27th, 2013

    Can you give me an example of an email you’d send it’d be better for me to comprehend

    • Alexsandra
    • November 19th, 2013

    Challenge accepted! … Can you give me an example of an email you’d send to a college please?

    • Laff
    • November 25th, 2013

    Love this story ! Cool idea lol

    • bstonyy
    • November 29th, 2013

    did you put your home address in the original email?

    • YSH
    • November 29th, 2013

    What do you mean when you went through the list three times? Did they send you same shirts again? I’m doing it right now am wondering how many school are on the US News and World Report list. Thank you.

    • YSH
    • December 2nd, 2013

    EMMANUEL COLLEGE said they couldn’t give me one ;(
    This is time consuming but super fun. especially when you check the mail.

    • patricia
    • December 9th, 2013

    This is the coolest thing ever. I have started doing this today as I read your post yesterday. I am asking for them for my son. He is a sophomore and lives with his dad and they have four kids and one modest income. Thank you so very much..

      • patricia
      • December 16th, 2013

      I am posting again. My son received his first shirt Friday. Idk where it was from. He lives out of town but apparently this works. Instead of clicking on the link in the list of colleges, I open up a separate web page and google “college name admissions office” it brings up a list of of the college and related admissions pages. Most of the time you only have to go through one or two more like to find admissions email address

    • ijovan
    • January 9th, 2014

    LMBO! I just came across your post, feeling shy I must admit, that I just sat here in my office and requested about a dozen free promotional pens after receiving a couple unsolicited via mail. I love t-shirts and this is hilarious!

    • Ray
    • January 14th, 2014

    This is amazing :D
    Could you please send me the list of your schools that you had?
    Thanks!
    raylo0408@hotmail.com

    • Jackie
    • January 15th, 2014

    Around how many colleges replied back and did the send you an email or just sent the shirts?
    Is there anyway you can also send me the list of colleges.

    Thank you,
    Jackie

    • Cameron
    • January 23rd, 2014

    Where’s the best place to get a list of all college admissions emails?

      • YSH
      • January 23rd, 2014

      GUYS! There’s no list. You have to do the work, but it’s rewarding and super fun.

    • leah
    • January 23rd, 2014

    I’d love that list if anyone could get it to me!
    leahrfvb28@yahoo.com

    • James Denton
    • January 25th, 2014

    l have about 350 college t-shirts from 275 different schools that were mostly purchased from thrift stores.

  10. Thank you for posting this. I’m going into high school so this is going to be a good way to get some college names into my head. Hoping for some successes :)

    • phoo kyaw
    • January 30th, 2014

    Is this still working ?

    • Ivy
    • February 1st, 2014

    Hello can you please send me the list of colleges and email addresses that you used. In the last 2 hours, I have submitted an email to 35 colleges.
    ivyia.lol97@yahoo.com

      • Nicole
      • February 5th, 2014

      Hey how do you ask for a free shirt without being rude lol

        • YSH
        • February 5th, 2014

        Say you’re promoting

    • Phoo Kyaw
    • February 3rd, 2014

    Please email me the list of colleges and email addresses to phoopwintkyaw@hotmail.com

    • Nicole
    • February 3rd, 2014

    Can anyone please email me the list of colleges that they recieved t-shirts or any other items from? dancingroxsxo@aol.com

    • Jgirly
    • February 9th, 2014

    Has anyone recently had success with this?

      • YSH
      • February 10th, 2014

      SUPERSUCCESS

    • Kaa
    • February 12th, 2014

    I wonder if this would work with businesses? Has anyone tried emailing businesses like coke or pepsi and offering to advertise for free if they send you a shirt?

    • Kate
    • March 12th, 2014

    Do you know if you got more shirts from state schools or private schools?

    • Savannah
    • March 15th, 2014

    I emailed about 100 schools around about half of them just keep sending me a link to their college store. Now what!

      • Sarah
      • April 13th, 2014

      Whenever you go to send an email to a college, make sure they don’t have t-shirts on their website, a lot of the bigger ones do. Try to go for the smaller colleges, especially the colleges in the Midwest and northern portion of the East Coast.

    • anon
    • March 27th, 2014

    You could have automated this entire process using VBA + Excel + Outlook. With some brief googling, it could take anyone less than a couple hours to do with no previous experience or about 15 minutes to do for the experienced users. Just in case you or anyone else wants to do this again in the future….

      • Stone
      • March 27th, 2014

      How would one go about doing this?

    • mans
    • March 27th, 2014

    In case anyone is trying to do this, I found a pretty good list for Campus Admissions from SUNY schools:
    http://www.suny.edu/attend/apply-to-suny/campus-admissions-offices/

  11. Can anyone send me the schools from which they have received anything (T-shirts, sweatshirts, pens, hats, ANYTHING. etc) lol

    Thanks in advance :)

    Caridaniap@gmail.com

    • FreeLoader
    • April 6th, 2014

    Has anyone recently tried this, if so, did it work?

      • Sarah
      • April 13th, 2014

      I’ve only sent out about 12 emails and I’ve been responded to by two colleges so far, one saying that they couldn’t, and the other asking which sports I like best, so I’d say it sure works :)

  12. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve visited this web site before but after browsing through some
    of the posts I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I
    discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back often!

    • Sarah
    • April 12th, 2014

    I never seem to have any t-shirts, and I love getting college stuff. A lot of times, I’ll email colleges saying I’m interested just for the brochures and magnents and stuff. I had no idea if that if I asked for a shirt, I could get one. I am really going to try this. I hope it works :)

    • Amber M.
    • April 18th, 2014

    I, too, am going to try this! Thanks so much for all the info you provided, it was very helpful. In fact, your post inspired me to do this. I’ve been searching and searching for free t-shirts and when i stumbled upon this it was perfect being as I’m looking into colleges! Only, I dont know that I will e-mail as many as you did though. Never know though, I may really get into it! (:

  13. I am really excited to try this is there anyway you could send me the URL your teacher gave you or at least a list of the schools. If you can that would be amazing. My email is
    ajhowell95@gmail.com
    Thanks

      • Amber M.
      • April 19th, 2014

      Also, it’s extremely easy but time consuming. Last night I went through and made a list of schools then googled “email to contact ‘TSU’ ” and they were poppin right up. I’m so excited to start this! I’ve sent about 30-40 emails out already!

  1. July 30th, 2012

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

