The intern running the @espn Twitter account is trolling us with Tebow-like tenacity

I love sports. I love to laugh. If you can combine these elements on Twitter, you’re a winner in my book. I try to work sports and humor into my tweets, and enjoy following others who do the same. However, not everyone has a knack for it. If you’d like to see a sports + humor train wreck happening on a daily basis, look no further than @espn.

It’s hard to deny the stats: with 6.1 million followers and a whopping 99 Klout score, @espn is doing something right. But humor ain’t it. When any other account irritates me to the level that @espn has, I unfollow. But I generally enjoy all of their other tweets. Their in-game alerts, stats, and programming notes are all good. However, their tweeted attempts at humor contain so much cheese that it makes me physically ill to read them. I went through their tweets from the past few weeks and have embedded the worst of the worst.

Remember, these are just from the past few weeks. I could keep going, but you get the idea. So, who’s to blame for these embarrassing tweets? Well, much like the Tebow love affair at ESPN, it’s a two-way street. Tebow gets ratings, so they feed us more Tebow. Their approach to Twitter is no different. Look at the action on some of these tweets. If you compare the RT/Favorite counts to some of their general sports tweets, these cheesy jokes are somehow well above average.

So, while I don’t think @espn will be changing their Twitter habits any time soon, there are a few things we as followers can do to slow these horrendously terrible tweets.

  1. Stop RTing and Favoriting them.
  2. Stop RTing and Favoriting them.
  3. Stop RTing and Favoriting them.

I’ll leave @espn with everyone’s favorite condescending jab: Stick to sports.

  1. Woah. I don’t follow @espn on twitter, but it doesn’t look like I’ll be jumping on the bandwagon anytime soon. It looks like their feed is a constant stream of cliches. I catch myself using over-used phrases as much as the next, but I don’t have millions of followers so I’m gonna go ahead and give myself get-out-of-jail free card on that one. The people I love to follow are sarcastic (obvi) and original!

  2. Cliche after cliche is exactly right. If you’ve made it this long without following them, might as well stay the course. If they insist on going the humor route, they need help.

  3. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was curious what all is required to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100% sure. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

