Attention Tim Tebow Haters: I Have a Few Questions For You

Tebow this.  Tebow that. Tebowing.

Sick of Tim Tebow yet?  I would understand if you were.  The media has crammed Tim Tebow down our throats so much these past few weeks, it has almost made us forget about the incomparable Brett Favre. Whoops, I spoke too soon.

Before I get into the questions I have for the Tim Tebow haters out there, I need to preface this post with something:  I love Tim Tebow.  Wait, that didn’t come out right; allow me to try that again.  I LOVE Tim Tebow.  I’ve never been much of a college football fan, so to be honest, I was lukewarm on him while he was at Florida.  No love, no hate, just didn’t really care.  But after reading his autobiography this summer and witnessing how he’s handled relentless scrutiny so far this season, I’m convinced he’s a genuine, rock-solid Christian who just wants to play football.  Anyway, for the remainder of this post, I’m going to attempt to put myself into the shoes of a Tebow hater.  [Man, these shoes don’t fit.  And they smell.  Moving on…]

So here’s my question, Tebow haters:  Would you rather see Tim Tebow fail professionally, or personally?  For purposes of this post, I’m going to define “professionally” as strictly on the field:  wins, losses, stats, accolades, etc.  And by “personally”, I’m including his spirituality, demeanor, morality, etc.

The easy answer for the ultimate Tebow hater would probably be “both”, but what if you had to pick one?  Tough call, fellow haters.  Man, his throwing motion blows!  Zero completions by halftime?  Seriously?  How can he call himself a professional quarterback?  Whoa, now he keeps talking about Jesus and stuff on camera?  I’ve seen enough.  I want to hate his game, but he just keeps winning!  I want to hate him as a person, but he seems to have it all together.  Damn that Tim Tebow!

Alright, it’s time to pick a side.  In order to do so, I think you have to consider another question: What do you hate more about Tim Tebow:  his game, or his religion?  I would guess that most haters hate how outspoken he is with his faith rather than his faith per se, but nevertheless, his faith and/or the way he goes about professing it really bothers some people.  But personally, I don’t think it would matter if Tebow were a Christian or a Buddhist. In my opinion, I think that some folks are just very uncomfortable with sports and religion (of any kind) coming together on such a big stage.

A certain level of apprehension is understandable, though.  The sports world has never seen anyone with the combination of on-field success and a faith as outspoken as his, which is something I really like.  It’s refreshing.  Would I be as big of a Tebow fan if he were a Buddhist?  No, probably not.  But it’s easy for me to like him because my religious beliefs are 100% in line with his.  But I’ll take a step back from that and just pose one final question for sports fans who are sick of the Tebow coverage:  Would you rather have disgusting Jerry Sandusky headlines in your face for the foreseeable future, or continue to learn more about a really interesting young man who is completely changing the game of football? Give me an all-Tebow TV channel, for Pete’s sake.

My whole point here is this, fellow haters:  if you had to pick a side of which to continue despising Tim Tebow, your safest bet is taking the “professional” side.  He’s won six out of seven as a starter and is destined to lose again at some point, so be patient and I’m sure you’ll be rewarded.  However, if you insist on putting your money on his “personal” failure, you’ve been warned.  No, he isn’t perfect.  He’s a sinner, just like you and I.  But if you’re going to sit and wait for a Brett Favre-like scandal to swoop in and destroy the likes of Tim Tebow, I really think you’re going to be waiting a while.

OK, now back to loving Tim Tebow.

    • Austin
    • December 7th, 2011

    I don’t think people hate him for either of the reasons you posit (for the most part, at least). I think people hate him because he’s a douche. People never hated Kurt Warner for being such an outspoken Christian (which I think is a pretty good comparison).

    Also, never count out a public figure’s ability to somehow royally eff up. One dumb mistake is all it takes, and it seems like everyone makes one at some point. As much as I don’t like him though, I certainly do not wish him personal ill will (other than his leg snapping off during a game)

    • Eli
    • December 7th, 2011

    Sidenote: I don’t think he’s a very good QB. I think he’s an OK QB. It’s mind-blowing how he’s able to pull out a win in each of these past 63727 weeks.

  1. Fair Warner comparison. I do wonder how it would have been different had media (social media, more specifically) been more prevalent in Warner’s start to his career. Also, Tebow’s collegiate career has set the stage for all of his. Huge name for a long time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

