RIP, BlackBerry. I’m getting an iPhone tomorrow.

Love.

Hate.

I can’t think of two better words to describe my over 4-year roller coaster ride with BlackBerry. Tomorrow, everything changes.

I’m getting an iPhone 4S.

It has been a long time coming. I’ll be the first to admit that. For whatever reason, I have defended my BlackBerry to the death around friends and family. I would often turn a blind eye to the incredible things iPhones/Droids can do because I didn’t want to know what I was missing. This wasn’t tough to do for most of my stint with BlackBerry. The iPhone was never an option for me because Verizon didn’t carry it. Droids hadn’t yet bursted into the mobile scene. However, the past two years have been rough. Real rough.

I’ve already received criticism for my timing in making the jump to an iPhone. “Oh, dude. You gotta wait until this summer for the iPhone 5.” My response to that sentiment is this: Apple is like a never-ending game of double dutch. They will be churning out new, amazing gadgets until the end of time. At some point, you just gotta jump in and skip that rope.

As a way of giving my BlackBerry a proper “burial”, I’m going to take a quick look back at some of the things I love and hate about my dinosaur of a smart phone. I’ll also point out some concerns I have as I transition to an iPhone, as well as some things I’m excited about.

Three things I love about my BlackBerry:

  1. Buttons. I really enjoy the feedback that a nice button click gives you. Lets you know it’s there.
  2. BlackBerry Messenger. Even though I only have 7 BBM contacts left, it’s a great messenger. Lightning fast.
  3. E-mail. I have all the confidence in the world that e-mail on an iPhone is every bit as good, but BlackBerry does e-mail so well.

Three things I hate about my BlackBerry:

  1. The browser. It is absolutely brutal. If the site I’m visiting isn’t a mobile version, it’s game over. Mail it in. You are not going to have a pleasant browsing experience.
  2. Lack of apps. BlackBerry does have “App World”, but it should probably be re-named “App Third World”. It’s a joke. Nine times out of ten, BlackBerry users are left in the dark when it comes to cool apps. iPhone/Droid users get all the app love.
  3. Having to pull out my battery at least two to three times a day. My BlackBerry bogs down to the point where it becomes unusable, with a battery pull being the only remedy. Then, it takes FOREVER to boot back up. Boy, I will not miss those battery pulls.

Three things that concern me about my iPhone:

  1. Touchscreen. I’ve never had one. I’m sure I’ll get the hang of it, but it’s going to take some time.
  2. Autocorrect. This scares the daylights out of me. If you know me at all, you know I’m a huge grammar Nazi. The thought of the grammar wheel being taken out of my hands actually keeps me up at night. I’ll just need to pay even closer attention while texting/tweeting.
  3. Battery life. It can’t get much worse than my BlackBerry, but I would consider myself a smart phone “power user”, so I hope the battery life on my iPhone is at least reasonable.

Three things about my iPhone that have me giddy:

  1. A huge, beautiful screen. The difference between the screen of my BlackBerry Bold and my future iPhone is like making the jump from a 32″ tube to a 60″ HD flat screen.
  2. Apps, apps, and more apps. I can’t wait to school everyone I know in Words With Friends (not available on BlackBerry).
  3. An awesome camera (which will make for better TwitPics, of course). I vow to never join Instagram (I couldn’t care less about that cup of coffee that you just turned artsy), but I am really looking forward to hi-res camera photos I can be proud of.

Tomorrow is going to be a great day.

  1. Welcome to the world of iPhone ownership. I was concerned about battery life as well. Check out this case. http://www.mophie.com/mophie-juice-pack-plus-iPhone-4-4S-battery-case-p/1160_jpp-ip4-blk.htm

  2. You can disable autocorrect, so given your proclivity for excellent grammar and spelling, you should be just fine without it.

    Also, you’l soon find that the battery life of an iPhone is streets ahead of nearly every other phone out there on the market. It’s all about how you configure your settings, which you know how to do quite well, I’m sure.

    Lastly, don’t ever hate on Instagram again. You’ll find yourself posting vignettes sooner than you realize. It’s inevitable.

    P.S. Let me know how my recommendation of Default Case suits you.

  3. I’m actually digging autocorrect now that I’ve used it a little. I’m really sloppy with the touchscreen typing, so autocorrect has helped clean things up.

    I love, LOVE Default Case and the Zagg screen protector. Both priced very well, arrived on Thursday/Saturday after ordering them the Sunday before, and together they give me confidence that my iPhone is well-protected. Kudos, Murray.

    • Tito
    • January 25th, 2013

    Baterries on BBs SUCK! I hate the constant pull out battery to a 5 minute reboot process. I hate the lil black clock that constantly pops up. I hate that fact that too many sites tell me I don’t have adobe flashplayer. I hate that I am told sorry the page is too big so everything will close on me …like it or not. Grrr! I hate the kack of apps. My cousins have iphones. Side by side, their apps move fast while I’m still waiting for something to boot up. It’s so sad all I can do is lol. Smh I don’t have the patients to wait for the BB10. Who knows when they’ll actually come out. Who knows that all the issues will actually go away w/ the new phone(BB10). I’m not willing to gamble anymore. F**K RIM! GOOD RIDDANCE BLACKBERRY! HELLO IPHONE : )

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

