Liveblog: Grinnell College vs. William Penn University, 5:00pm EST

Five days removed from his NCAA record-breaking 138-point performance, Jack Taylor will take the court today versus the 11-0 William Penn University Statesmen at 5:00pm EST. Taylor’s absurd stat line vs. Faith Baptist last Tuesday night made national headlines, including appearances on SportsCenter and Jimmy Kimmel Live. Having only the game’s box score to go on, I, too, went to bed that night convinced that this was one of the most amazing performances in sports history.

Out of curiosity, I decided to watch the game film the next morning. Within minutes, I could tell that this record was not what it appeared to be. I updated my blog post from the night before to include my findings from the tape. The record was a total sham and the entire game made a complete mockery of the game of basketball. Deadspin picked up on the skepticism and their post helped lead the way into slowing down the crowning of Jack Taylor.

Curiosity has the best of me again today, as I must see where Jack Taylor and Grinnell go from here. On paper, it looks like the matchup against undefeated William Penn is much more balanced. Will Jack Taylor chuck up another 100 shots? Will Grinnell spread it around a little more?  Keep checking back here for my liveblog throughout the game.

Since the game clock is not visible during the live stream of the game, I’ll just use the actual time (Eastern) as my reference points along the way.

5:04pm: The announcer said this is the most full he’s ever seen the Grinnell gym in his three years calling games.

5:06pm: ESPN has cameras as well as an anchor on-hand for the game.

5:11pm: Opening possession for William Penn results in a fastbreak dunk. This team could run with Grinnell.

5:14pm: Already several steals for William Penn so far. Grinnell looks very sloppy and out of sorts.

5:17pm: William Penn with two alley-oop attempts already. Definitely some athletes on this team.

5:18pm: Four minutes in, and Jack Taylor hasn’t even attempted a shot yet.

5:20pm: 6’1″, 205 lb. G Blake Walker has been guarding Taylor so far. Height/weight advantage over Taylor. I don’t see Taylor getting shots up too easily over this guy. He’s long.

5:22pm: Already seven different players have scored so far for Grinnell. Jack Taylor with only one shot attempt six minutes in.

5:25pm: Five consecutive possessions of missed shots between the two teams. Really sloppy, but this is run & gun. 25-17 William Penn with 12 left in the half.

5:27pm: Taylor with a nice drive to the hoop and sinks the floater. And-1. His first bucket of the game.

5:30pm: Grinnell is just 2-17 from 3 so far this game. Chucking it early and often, but nothing is falling. Hanging in there down 29-22 midway through the first half.

5:32pm: The difference between William Penn and Faith Baptist is night and day. This is an actual team with a good game plan to stop Grinnell. Taylor is forcing it to the hole but has 3 turnovers already. Only 3 points. 1-7 from the field, 0-5 from 3.

5:35pm: William Penn is pulling away, 37-23. Shooting 15-25 from the field. Doing it on the defensive end as well, with 7 steals and 3 blocks.

5:38pm: Fifteen different players have already seen the floor for Grinnell. The scoring is pretty spread out. If you were watching this game with no prior knowledge of this team, you wouldn’t know who their leader is.

5:40pm: The only thing worse than Grinnell’s shooting performance is their video/audio feed. Their video feed is currently a white screen with a giant red question mark.

5:44pm: Video feed is finally back up. William Penn is up 54-38 with 5 left in the first half.

5:45pm: William Penn is already in the double bonus. Perhaps “The Bomb Squad” will be making their debut? Doubtful. William Penn is shooting 80% from the line.

5:50pm: Griffen Lentsch leads the way for Grinnell with 11 points to Taylor’s 7. Lentsch held the previous D3 record with 89 points in a game last year. Lentsch is 4-18 from the field. 62-51 Penn with 2 left in the half.

5:52pm: Taylor with a really nice drive and dish. He has good court vision when he isn’t chucking threes. Two assists so far, to his zero last game.

5:55pm: Halftime. 64-55 Penn. Taylor is 2-9 from the field with 7 points. He’ll need just 132 points in the 2nd half to top his career high. Look for him to start chucking.

6:10pm: I can’t imagine what that ESPN anchor is reporting about. I’m struggling making a blog post interesting that maybe a hundred people will read. Unless things really pick up in the 2nd half, ESPN will be returning to Bristol with its tail between its legs and one crappy highlight reel.

6:12pm: The 2nd half is underway, yet no audio feed. What are these student broadcasters doing? Isn’t this the biggest game of their careers?

6:15pm: And now the video feed is out. Again with the red question mark. GET IT TOGETHER!

6:17pm: Griffin Lentsch continues to lead the way for Grinnell with 16 points. He is 5-24 from the field. 74-64 Penn. Nine 3’s for Grinnell to Penn’s three is keeping them in this game, no matter how many they miss.

6:21pm: 80-66 William Penn with 15 to play. I don’t think any lead is safe for William Penn, but they have controlled the entire game. Rebound advantage for Penn is 48-31.

6:24pm: Taylor just hit threes on back-to-back possessions. Really nice looking shots. 17 points on the night. Penn still leads 86-75.

6:29pm: Five players in double figures for Penn. They are shooting 60% from the field which is pretty impressive given the pace of this game. Grinnell is shooting 33%.

6:33pm: I’m pretty sure Grinnell recruited this Luke Yaeger kid solely because of his last name. The announcer is shouting “YAEGER BOMB!” every chance he gets.

6:40pm: The whistles are blowing in this game. A combined 57 fouls have been called so far. Only 30 fouls were called in Grinnell’s last game. Actual defense is being attempted. 100-88 Penn with 9 minutes left.

6:49pm: 114-101 lead for Penn with 6 to play. More of the same in the second half. Penn is going bucket-for-bucket with Grinnell, shooting at a much higher %. 15 3-pointers for Grinnell, 6 for Penn. Both teams are in the double bonus, so this could be a long 6 minutes.

6:53pm: Grinnell lives and dies by the 3. They just chucked one on a 3-on-1 fast break. Clank. They did sink one on the next possession, however. Grinnell cuts it to 7 with 4 and a half to go.

7:01pm: 128-114 William Penn with a minute and a half to play. Penn has controlled the entire game, holding a 10-ish point lead the whole way.

7:10pm: FINAL. 131-116 win for William Penn. Seven players in double figures for Penn.

Well, I would consider that a waste of two hours. At least I didn’t pack up and attend this game like ESPN did.

The shot attempts for Taylor in his first four games tells you all you need to know: 18, 23, 108, 21. Give Grinnell credit: they held to their game plan. They definitely nailed Faith Baptist as their weakest opponent, and they definitely did everything they could to abuse the box score and get on SportsCenter. It worked. But I think it will be forgotten about as quickly as it happened. That is, until they play Faith Baptist again at some point…

    • http://casion.ch/
    • December 9th, 2012

    A variety of techniques and stokes are used.

    It starts by explaining the importance of asking permission and respecting.

    Free Hair Care Sample Package, DVD & coupons for
    Men – Really nice package.

  1. Hey would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m going to start my
    own blog soon but I’m having a hard time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m
    looking for something completely unique. P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  2. Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon on a daily basis.
    It will always be helpful to read articles
    from other authors and practice a little something from other sites.

  3. The players on the PGA Tour in the first year are as high tiger woods ex as 900, 000.
    It’s more of a wood bottom footprint, thus the name.

  4. They provide only a measure of empathy. Obama’s plan would bring that how to reduce cellulite naturally total to $4. But, Mr Laidlaw suggested, Mr Christodoulides might have stood and talked about the baby boomers, many of which are non genetically modified plants how to reduce cellulite naturally including legumes, soyabeans, beech buds etc.

  5. Wonderful blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?

    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Appreciate it

  6. Aw, this was a really good post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to create a good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate a whole lot and don’t seem to get anything done.

  7. This design is incredible! You most certainly know
    how to keep a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start
    my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job. I
    really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

  8. Hey I am so happy I found your website, I really found you by mistake, while I was searching
    on Aol for something else, Anyways I am here
    now and would just like to say cheers for a tremendous post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at
    the moment but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please
    do keep up the fantastic work.

  9. I’ll right away grab your rss feed as I can’t in finding your e-mail subscription link
    or newsletter service. Do you have any? Please allow me recognize so that I may just
    subscribe. Thanks.

  10. Wonderful site you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of any discussion boards that cover the same topics talked about in this article?
    I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get
    comments from other experienced individuals that share the same interest.
    If you have any recommendations, please let me know.
    Thanks!

  11. Hello there! I just would like to give you a big
    thumbs up for the great info you’ve got here on this post.
    I am coming back to your web site for more soon.

  12. I am regular visitor, how are you everybody?
    This post posted at this website is in fact nice.

  13. Everything is very open with a very clear description of the challenges.
    It was really informative. Your website is useful.
    Thanks for sharing!

  14. Good day I am so excited I found your webpage, I really found you by mistake,
    while I was researching on Bing for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like
    to say thank you for a incredible post and a all round
    exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but
    I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have
    time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep
    up the fantastic work.

  15. Hi there, after reading this awesome post i am also cheerful to share my know-how here
    with mates.

  16. I enjoyed reading this a lot. I really hope to read more
    of your articles in the future, so I’ve bookmarked your blog.

  17. I go to see every day some blogs and information sites to read posts, except this webpage offers
    quality based writing.

  18. I’d always desire to be updated on new articles on this web site, saved them to my top picks!

  19. Hi there, just wanted to tell you, I enjoyed this blog post.

    It was practical. Keep on posting!

  20. You could definitely see your enthusiasm in the article you write.
    The world hopes for even more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid
    to say how they believe. At all times go after your heart.

  21. In fact, with the method for hiring a DUI attorney recommended here, you will be able to have
    a few choices in what kind of price you will pay for the services of your DUI attorney.

    08 increases the risk of a car crash to 11 times more likely.
    Partying and going overboard in drinking is a likelihood affair
    with every other person.

  22. Asking questions are truly fastidious thing if you are not understanding anything fully,
    but this piece of writing provides nice understanding even.

  23. What they did not know is that the injury they obtained could
    ruin their future. A lot of us have been wronged by others
    on numerous occasions. If you’re planning on getting an attorney, you
    should know that the process is really tedious.

  24. Wow, incredible weblog layout! How long have you ever been blogging for?

    you made running a blog glance easy. The total look of your website is great,
    as neatly as the content material!

  25. I hardly leave responses, but i did a few searching and wound
    up here Liveblog: Grinnell College vs. William Penn University, 5:
    00pm EST | @burnSTYLEr. And I actually do have 2 questions for you
    if it’s allright. Could it be simply me or does
    it look like a few of the remarks look as if they are coming
    from brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are writing on additional online social sites, I’d
    like to follow everything fresh you have to post.
    Would you make a list of all of your community pages like
    your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  26. This post offers clear idea in support of the new visitors of blogging, that in fact how to do blogging and site-building.

  27. You can trim video clips, transform them
    into slow motion, add your own voice, visual effects, transitions, and music tracks,
    and have complete control over your newly-created movies. Perhaps one of
    the biggest changes from the current system is the way notifications are received by
    the user. A few of these offers are free depending on which
    country you live in and might involve just a simple trial of a product e.

  28. What i don’t realize is in reality how you are now not actually much more
    well-liked than you might be right now. You’re so intelligent.

    You understand therefore considerably on the subject of this subject, made me individually consider
    it from a lot of various angles. Its like women and men don’t seem to be involved unless it’s something to do with Woman gaga!

    Your personal stuffs outstanding. At all times take care of it up!

  29. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s really
    informative. I am going to watch out for brussels.

    I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. Lots of
    people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  30. Howdy would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re using?

    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different
    internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.
    Can you recommend a good hosting provider at a fair price?
    Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!

  31. I enjoy what you guys tend to be up too. This sort of clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the terrific works guys I’ve included you guys to blogroll.

  32. Hey! I know this is kind of off topic but
    I was wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my
    comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having
    problems finding one? Thanks a lot!

  33. Hi there mates, good paragraph and pleasant urging commented
    at this place, I am really enjoying by these.

  34. But unlike your couch-crashing “friend,” you can’t merely put herpes from the street and
    become finished with it. And even worse, the Centers for Ailment Control and Avoidance estimate that, in the
    usa alone, herpes infects over three-quarters of a million different people every year.

  35. Hey there! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I really enjoy reading your posts.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same
    subjects? Thank you so much!

  36. Excellent blog right here! Also your website
    lots up very fast! What host are you using? Can
    I get your affiliate hyperlink in your host? I want my site loaded up as
    quickly as yours lol

  37. What’s up, yeah this post is in fact nice and I have learned lot of things
    from it about blogging. thanks.

  38. First, Pinterest users should have more creative options to customize the home page.

    The following are four prime reasons why you should be
    using Pinterest, including examples of practical applications:
    . The more powerful the image, the more interest you will provoke in visitors
    to your profile which in turn will result in your profile attracting more
    followers.

  39. Hello colleagues, how is everything, and what you would
    like to say about this piece of writing, in my view
    its really awesome designed for me.

  40. Hmm seems like like your website ate my first comment (it was very long) so I
    guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m completely enjoying your
    blog. I as well am an aspiring blogger however I’m still
    new to everything. Have you got any points for newbie blog writers?
    I’d definitely treasure it.

  41. Juust wish to say yoour article is as surprising. The carity for
    your put up is simply great and i can think you’re an explert
    in this subject. Fine aoong with your permission let me to taske hold of your feed to
    keesp up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks 1,000,000 andd please carry on the rewarding work.

  42. Hi, I’m Jerome. I spend ttoo much time surfing tһe web, looking for
    interesting articles ‘n’ stuff. Here’s one I hope
    you like. J

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment